Straight from the MPPC Youth Blog!

Leer esta entrada en Español.

International youth volunteer Sarah Dickson originally recounted this story on the MPPC youth blog:

I arrived in El Salvador with many preconceived notions. I had seen pictures of the conditions here and I had heard about the corruption. What I didn’t expect to find was the astounding beauty of the country. Beauty is evident in the vibrant colors of the buildings, the flowers that are growing in random corners, and the smiling faces of the people.

Perhaps the most beautiful thing is the receptiveness of the Getsemaní community.  As I worked with the people and developed strong bonds, I realized that this experience has given me more than I thought imaginable. I came with the intention of serving “my” mission but what I have learned is that the community is on a mission to serve me, so that my eyes will be opened and my heart will be stretched.

– Sarah Dickson

Leave a comment